The Johns Hopkins Innovation Fund for Community Safety is a $6 million, 4-year effort to support community-led initiatives to improve safety and reduce violence in communities near Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, Maryland. The Fund will support projects of up to $250,000 per year for up to four years. More information on the fund is available here

A selection advisory committee reviewed all applications for the Innovation Fund for Community Safety and made recommendations for funding in Spring 2021.  

The committee included 12 individuals, including 6 non-Johns Hopkins affiliated community members who are Baltimore City residents. The committee met regularly to review the proposal submissions for Innovation Fund grants based on the selection criteria outlined in the RFP.  

Selection Advisory Committee 

Six community residents:

  • Burgundi Allison, Program Associate – Baltimore Civic Site and National Community Strategies, Annie E. Casey Foundation (Co-Chair) 
  • amalia deloney, Vice President, Robert W. Deutsch Foundation  
  • Charlene Harrod-Owuamana, CEO, Owuamana Enterprises  
  • DeJuan Patterson, CEO, Bridge Advisory Group 
  • James Timpson, Director of Youth Work and Crisis Intervention, Roca Baltimore 
  • Lanae Williams, Sophomore at Patapsco High School and Center for the Arts 

Six members affiliated with Johns Hopkins:  

  • Ozioma Anyanwu, Undergraduate and President of the Black Student Union, Johns Hopkins University 
  • Otis Brawley, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, and Department of Epidemiology, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health 
  • Christopher Heaney, Associate Professor, Environmental Health and Engineering, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health 
  • Vanya Jones, Associate Professor, Health, Behavior and Society, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (Co-Chair) 
  • Regina Gail Malloy, Executive Assistant to the President, Johns Hopkins Hospital 
  • Charles Scheeler, Trustee, Johns Hopkins Board of Trustees 

Because of their important role in the grantmaking process, members of the selection advisory committee could not participate, directly or indirectly, in an application submitted for funding. Indirect participation qualifies as anyone who is a current employee or board member of an organization or business in the RFP.  

From the Hub
JHU Innovation Fund announces Selection Advisory Committee

New 12-member committee to award funds for violence reduction in Baltimore