The JHU Innovation Fund for Community Safety will be led by:

  • Ellen MacKenzie, dean of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Josh Sharfstein, vice dean for public health practice and community engagement at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Alicia Wilson, vice president for economic development, Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins Health System

Proposals will be evaluated by a panel of faculty, staff, administrators, community residents, and students with experience and/or expertise in violence prevention and a demonstrated interest in community-led and public health solutions for public safety.The initial round of grantees will be announced in mid-January.

The size of awards will vary depending on the scope and promise of the activity proposed. Project teams are strongly encouraged to seek matching funds or in-kind support from public and/or private agencies where appropriate.


  • October 2020 – Listening sessions with the Johns Hopkins community
  • Fall 2020 – Development of RFP and call for selection committee nominations
  • January 14 – Release of final RFP
  • January 19, 5 pm EST – Q&A Session and release of selection committee application
  • January 25, 5 pm EST – Partner Matching Session
  • February 25, 5 pm EST – Deadline for RFP submissions and selection committee applications
  • March 2021 – Selection Advisory Committee Announcement
  • June 2021 – Grant Awards Public Announcement