Skip to main content

University Leadership

Ronald J. Daniels took office in March 2009 as the 14th president of Johns Hopkins University. A law and economics scholar, he holds an appointment as professor in our Department of Political Science. Prior to his appointment, he served as provost of the University of Pennsylvania and dean and James M. Tory Professor of Law at the University of Toronto Faculty of Law.

In May 2013, Daniels unveiled Ten by Twenty, an articulation of priorities for Johns Hopkins through the remainder of the decade. The final version set out 10 goals organized under four priorities: one university, individual excellence, commitment to our communities, and institution building.

Homewood Campus

Ten by Twenty Progress Report

In March 2015, the university launched its first progress report online, presenting 30 snapshots of projects large and small that exemplify its work toward the Ten by Twenty goals

Office of the Provost

Robert C. Lieberman took office as Johns Hopkins University’s 14th provost in July 2013. He is the chief academic officer and second-ranking member of the senior administration, responsible for promoting and coordinating the university’s teaching and research mission. He also oversees the university’s nine schools as well as several interdisciplinary programs and academic centers. Provost's Office website

Deans and Directors

Johns Hopkins’ excellence is grounded in its many divisions, working together as one university. Our deans and directors guide the university’s research and educational programs on the divisional level. See bios

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees was established by university founder Johns Hopkins in 1867, when he filed a certificate of incorporation for “The Johns Hopkins University” and named the first 12 trustees. As the university’s chief governing body, the Board of Trustees protects the university’s integrity, ensures that it fulfills the purposes for which it was established, and preserves and augments its physical and financial assets. Board of Trustees website