Staff Advisory Council

The Johns Hopkins University Staff Advisory Council (JHU-SAC) gives Johns Hopkins staff members the opportunity to raise their voices about the needs, opportunities, aspirations, and challenges that staff experience in their professional lives at JHU and provide critical input to leadership on decisions and policymaking around university initiatives, programming, and policies.

As a highly collaborative institution, insight from our staff has always been instrumental in helping university leadership develop and improve programs for employees. The council will focus on ways to foster a more dynamic and desirable workplace and ensure our campus environment is one in which all our staff are welcomed and can thrive personally and professionally. The council will work closely with university leadership and Human Resources, sharing their insights on topics that may include university policies; benefits; diversity, equity and inclusion; training and professional development; staff recognition and engagement; and other aspects of university operations.

MISSION STATEMENT: To serve as an inclusive body for Johns Hopkins University’s staff; to advise the university’s leadership by championing for staff through the promotion of forward thinking and innovative solutions to the multifaceted needs of staff; to leverage collaborations with accountable university partners.

Click here to self-nominate for the inaugural University Staff Advisory Council

Council Membership and Organization

The council will be composed of elected staff who represent various backgrounds, organizational levels, job areas and functions across the university, as well as years of service. Participation on the council is voluntary and will be considered work time. The council is expected to meet at least twice each spring and fall semester and as needed to consider timely issues. All full-time JHU staff are eligible to self-nominate. Self-nomination form

The SAC will consist of 37 elected members and 5 non-voting members appointed by university leadership.  All full-time staff are eligible to self-nominate and must be in good job performance standing (i.e., not on a performance improvement plan). Nominees will be verified to be in good standing by their divisional and Human Resources leadership to participate in the SAC election.   

SAC members are determined by the number of employees in a school or division, with there being a minimum of 2 seats for each school or division.  Full-time staff will be eligible to vote for candidates from their school or division. Elections are anticipated for January 2024 and will be announced separately. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Staff Advisory Council Info Sessions

Date and TimeLocation
Dec. 1, 2:00-2:30pmZoom
Dec. 4, 3:00-3:30pmZoom
Dec. 6, 8:30-11:00amHomewood Library
Dec. 6, 1:00-3:00pmSchool of Nursing Lobby
Dec. 7, 1:00-3:00pmHomewood, Mudd Hall Atrium
Dec. 12, 10:00am-1:00pmD.C., 555 Penn
Dec. 14, 8:30-11:00amBloomberg School of Public Health Lobby

Staff Advisory Council Planning Group

The Staff Advisory Council Planning Group created the infrastructure for future elected councils and identified the composition, term lengths, and procedures for elections of Staff Advisory Council membership and leadership. Below is a list of members who served on the planning group. We are grateful for their contributions to be able to launch this new universitywide initiative.

NameJob TitleDivision
Tonika BerkleyAfricana ArchivistSheridan Libraries
Timothy CarlWeb AdministratorSchool of Nursing
Stephanie EaddyExecutive SpecialistAcademic and Business Centers
Phillip HearnCommunications AssociateAcademic and Business Centers
Tiffany HooperAcademic Services SpecialCarey Business School
Jennifer HouderAssociate Director AdmissionsSAIS
Donald Juedes Academic Liaison Sheridan Libraries
Christine KavanaghAssociate Dean- MGMWhiting School of Engineering
Brooklyn KhouryAdministrator- ClinicalSchool of Medicine
Jamison KiesSr. Administrative ManagerSchool of Medicine
Tiffany LundquistDirector CommunicationsPeabody Institute
Stacey MarkDiversity SpecialistWhiting School of Engineering
Michael McGheeSr. Administrative ManagerWhiting School of Engineering
Camilla Mika-SimmsAcademic Program AdministratorSchool of Education
Maithilee MitraIT Project ManagerUniversity Administration
Joseph MontcalmoDirector of Learning InnovationPeabody Institute
Alison MorrowAcademic Program AdministratorWhiting School of Engineering
Tricia NillesSr. Research AnalystSchool of Public Health
Jessica OrosDirector Student ConductUniversity Student Services
Christopher PenaWebsite DesignerSchool of Advanced Institutional Studies
Matthew PierceInstructional DesignerSchool of Education
Eric PotterAdministrative ManagerSchool of Arts & Sciences
Emily ScheckSr. Administrative CoordinatorUniversity of Administration
Danielle SimmsExecutive AssistantUniversity Student Services
Calvin SmithDirector Student LeadershipUniversity Student Services
Howard WallackDirector- CS HRAcademic and Business Centers
Kaitlyn WilliamsAdmissions OfficerSchool of Nursing

Timeline of Council Activities

  • August 2022: Creation of Staff Advisory Council announced
  • December 2022: Staff Advisory Council Planning Group convenes
  • December 2022 – May 2023: Staff Advisory Council infrastructure (mission/scope, structure, bylaws, etc.) finalized and announced
  • December 2023: Self-nominations for council membership
  • January 2024: Council elections
  • February – April 2024: Staff Advisory Council in place, new member orientation, election of Executive Committee members


Recognizing the work of the Staff Advisory Council Planning Group | Oct. 12, 2023

The Staff Advisory Council to be formed | Aug. 10, 2022

Staff Advisory Council moves toward launch | Apr. 17, 2022

JHU-SAC Contact: Michael McCormick, Staff Advisory Council Support Specialist (

Submit your Questions and Feedback