HSO logo banner, Jed Gaylin Music Director

 

2013-2014 Hopkins Symphony Orchestra Rehearsal and Performance Schedule

July 21, 2013 version

AUDITIONS · SDS Room, Mattin Center

Friday, September 6, 2013 · 3 pm – 10 pm
   3 pm - 5 pm Woodwinds and Brass
   6 pm - 10 pm Strings
Saturday, September 7, 2013 · 9 am – 6 pm
   9 am - 12:30 pm Woodwinds and Brass
   1:30 pm - 6 pm Strings
Please notify us if these dates conflict with your religious observance.

CONCERTS BY CATEGORY

Symphonic Concerts · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

(pre-concert talk 1 hour before performance)
Saturday, October 19, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, December 7, 2013 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, March 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, April 26, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Chamber Concerts · Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center

Sunday, November 10, 2013 at 3pm
Sunday, February 16, 2014 at 3pm

22th Annual Concert for Children and Families · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

Sunday, March 2, 2014 at 3 pm

CONCERTO COMPETITION JUDGING · Shriver Hall

[Application deadline is Monday, December 9, 2013.]

Saturday, February 1, 2014 from 9 am - 3pm

SYMPHONIC REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES in Shriver Hall
Jed Gaylin, Conductor

All rehearsals are 7-9:30 pm except as noted.

  1. Piotr Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1, op. 23, Jung-Eun Kim, piano
    Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3

    Monday, September 9, 2013
    Monday, September 16, 2013
    Monday, September 23, 2013
    Monday, September 30, 2013
    Monday, October 7, 2013
    Monday, October 14, 2013 (Fall Break)
    Thursday, October 17, 2013
    Friday, October 18, 2013 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, October 19, 2013    8:00 pm performance

  2. Giuseppe Verdi: Requiem
       Lori Holtgren, soprano
       Jennifer Blades, alto
       Richard Crawley, tenor
       Robert Cantrell, bass
       JHU Choral Society, Goucher Chorus, and Baltimore School for the Arts Chorus

    Monday, October 21, 2013 NO REHEARSAL (rest after concert)
    Monday, October 28, 2013
    Monday, November 4, 2013
    Monday, November 11, 2013
    Monday, November 18, 2013
    Monday, November 25, 2013
    Monday, December 2, 2013
    Thursday, December 5, 2013
    Friday, December 6, 2013 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, December 7, 2013    8:00 pm performance

  3. James Lee III: Alas! Babylon's Final Sunset HSO Commission and World Premiere
    Ferde Grofe: Grand Canyon Suite
    Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition (arr. Ravel)

    Monday, January 27, 2014
    Monday, February 3, 2014
    Monday, February 10, 2014
    Monday, February 17, 2014
    Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Monday, February 24, 2014
    Thursday, February 27, 2014
    Friday, February 28, 2014 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, March 1, 2014    8:00 pm performance, symphonic concert
    Sunday, March 2, 2014    3:00 pm performance, family concert

  4. Concerto Competition Winner/s, TBD
    Jean Sibelius: En Saga
    Igor Stravinsky: Firebird Suite (1919 version)

    Monday, March 3, 2014 NO REHEARSAL (Rest and Recuperation)
    Monday, March 10, 2014
    Monday, March 17, 2014 NO REHEARSAL (Spring Break)
    Monday, March 24, 2014
    Monday, March 31, 2014
    Monday, April 7, 2014
    Monday, April 14, 2014 NO REHEARSAL (Passover)
    Thursday, April 17, 2014
    Monday, April 21, 2014
    Thursday, April 24, 2014
    Friday, April 25, 2014 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, April 26, 2014    8:00 pm performance

CHAMBER REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES

All rehearsals are 2-4:30 pm except as noted.

  1. Concert No. 1
    Sunday, October 27, 2013 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, November 3, 2013 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, November 9, 2013 Interfaith Center
    Sunday, November 10, 2013 12pm-2pm dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
    Sunday, November 10, 2013   3:00 pm performance , Interfaith Center

  2. Concert No. 2
    Sunday, February 2, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, February 9, 2014 SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, February 15, 2014 Interfaith Center
    Sunday, February 16, 2014 12pm-2pm dress rehearsal, Interfaith Center
    Sunday, February 16, 2014   3:00 pm performance, Interfaith Center