HSO logo banner, Jed Gaylin Music Director

 

2010-2011 Hopkins Symphony Orchestra Rehearsal and Performance Schedule

February 9, 2011 version

AUDITIONS · Shriver Hall

Friday, September 10, 2010 from 4 – 9 pm
Saturday, September 11, 2010 from 11 am – 6 pm
Please notify us if these dates conflict with your religious observance.

CONCERTS BY CATEGORY

Symphonic Concerts · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

(pre-concert talk 1 hour before performance)
Saturday, October 16, 2010 at 8 pm
Saturday, December 4, 2010 at 8 pm
Sunday, March 13, 2011 at 3 pm
Sunday, April 17, 2011 at 3 pm

Chamber Concerts · Vladimir Lande, Conductor

Sunday, November 21, 2010 at 3 pm    Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center
Sunday, February 20, 2011 at 3 pm    SDS Room, Mattin Center
Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 3 pm    SDS Room, Mattin Center

19th Annual Concert for Children and Families · Shriver Hall · Jed Gaylin, Conductor

Saturday, March 12, 2011 at 1 pm

ALL CONCERT DATES

Date Type Location
Saturday, October 16, 2010 at 8 pm Symphonic Shriver
Sunday, November 21, 2010 at 3 pm Chamber Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center
Saturday, December 4, 2010 at 8 pm Symphonic Shriver
Sunday, February 20, 2011 at 3 pm Chamber SDS Room, Mattin Center
Saturday, March 12, 2011 at 1 pm Concert for Children and Families Shriver
Sunday, March 13, 2011 at 3 pm Symphonic Shriver
Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 3 pm Chamber SDS Room, Mattin Center
Sunday, April 17, 2011 at 3 pm Symphonic Shriver

SYMPHONIC REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES in Shriver Hall
Jed Gaylin, Conductor

All rehearsals are 7-9:30 pm except as noted.

  1. Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Opus 56 (Scottish)
    Gaetano Donizetti: Excerpts from Lucia di Lammermoor · Singers from Opera Vivente

    Monday, September 13, 2010
    Monday, September 20, 2010
    Monday, September 27, 2010
    Monday, October 4, 2010 plus 9:35 pm chamber music meeting
    Monday, October 11, 2010 (despite Fall Beak and Columbus Day)
    Thursday, October 14, 2010
    Friday, October 15, 2010 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, October 16, 2010    8 pm performance

  2. Guest Conductor: Tao Fan
    Ludwig van Beethoven: Egmont Overture, Opus 84
    Max Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 2 in D Minor · Jonathan Carney, violin
    Manuel de Falla: The Three-Cornered Hat, Suites 1 and 2

    Monday, October 18, 2011 NO REHEARSAL – Rest & Recuperation
    Monday, October 25, 2010
    Monday, November 1, 2010  (sectionals)
    Monday, November 8, 2010
    Monday, November 15, 2010
    Monday, November 22, 2010
    Monday, November 29, 2010
    Thursday, December 2, 2010
    Friday, December 3, 2010 dress rehearsal
    Saturday, December 4, 2010    8 pm performance

  3. Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 ("Emperor") · Enrico Elisi, piano
    Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade, Opus 35

    Monday, January 31, 2011
    Monday, February 7, 2011  (sectionals)
    Monday, February 14, 2011
    Monday, February 21, 2011 (despite Presidents’ Day)
    Thursday, February 24, 2011
    Monday, February 28, 2011
    Monday, March 7, 2011
    Thursday, March 10, 2011
    Saturday, March 12, 2011    10 am – 12:30 pm dress rehearsal, 1 pm kids concert
    Sunday, March 13, 2011    3 pm performance

  4. Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 5 in C-Sharp Minor

    Monday, March 14, 2011 NO REHEARSAL – Rest & Recuperation
    Monday, March 21, 2011 NO REHEARSAL – Spring Break
    Monday, March 28, 2011
    Thursday, March 31, 2011 (no sectional this cycle)
    Monday, April 4, 2011
    Thursday, April 7, 2011
    Monday, April 11, 2011
    Thursday, April 14, 2011
    Friday, April 15, 2011
    Saturday, April 16, 2011    10 am – 12:30 pm dress rehearsal
    Sunday, April 17, 2011    3 pm performance

CHAMBER REHEARSALS AND PERFORMANCES
Vladimir Lande, Conductor

(please note ever-changing times and places)

  1. featured work: Felix Mendelssohn: Sinfonia No. 8 in D Major

    Saturday, November 13, 2010 from 2 – 4:30 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, November 14, 2010 from 2 - 4:30 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Friday, November 19, 2010 from 7:30 – 10:00 pm Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center
    Saturday, November 20, 2010 from 2 - 4:30 pm dress rehearsal Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center
    Sunday, November 21, 2010 at 3 pm concert Bunting-Meyerhoff Interfaith Center
  2. featured work: Aaron Copland: Suite from Appalachian Spring

    Saturday, February 12, 2011 from 2 - 4:30 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, February 13, 2011 from 2 - 4:30 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Friday, February 18, 2011 from 7:30 - 10:00 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, February 19, 2011 from 2 - 4:30 pm dress rehearsal SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, February 20, 2011 at 3 pm concert SDS Room, Mattin Center
  3. featured works: Maurice Ravel: Introduction and Allegro · Iraida Poberezhnaya, harp
    W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor, K. 466 · Marika Bournaki, piano

    Friday, April 1, 2011 from 7:30 - 10:00 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Saturday, April 2, 2011 from 2 - 4:30 pm SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, April 3, 2011 from 11 am - 1 pm dress rehearsal SDS Room, Mattin Center
    Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 3 pm concert SDS Room, Mattin Center