Center for Environmental and Applied Fluid Mechanics

CEAFM Dual Degree Program

Weekly Seminar

Annual Symposium

CEAFM Dual Degree Program


Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award

The "Corrsin-Kovasznay Outstanding Paper Award" recognizes a young JHU scholar who is "lead author" of a recent paper in fluid mechanics for the work's excellence, originality and potential impact. The award honors two great Johns Hopkins fluid dynamicists, the late Professor Stanley Corrsin and the late Professor Leslie Kovasznay. A number of alumni and friends have come together and established a fund for this award.

To be eligible for nomination, the young scholar (1) must be a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow at the Johns Hopkins University, or have left the university no more than 2 years prior to the nomination, and (2) must be a lead author of a paper in fluid mechanics that, at the time of nomination, has already been published in a peer-reviewed, archival journal and describes work done while at Johns Hopkins University. The award, to be given out once a year, consists of $500 in to the awardee. In most cases, the awardee will be invited to campus to give a seminar and will receive the award on that occasion. The award is administered by the Center for Environmental and Applied Fluid Mechanics (CEAFM). A committee will receive and evaluate nominations each year, and select the awardee.


Winner of the 2010
Corrsin-Kovasznay Oustanding Paper Award

Dr. Di Yang, for his paper  "Direct-simulation-based study of turbulent flow over various waving boundaries" published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics with Lian Shen.

Prof. Markus Hilpert presents the Corrsin-Kovasnay Outstanding Paper Award and the prize check to Dr. Di Yang on occasion of the seminar.

Upcoming Seminar


Speaker: Dr. Sankaran Sundaresan (Princeton University)
Title: "Filtered Two-Fluid Models for Fluidized Gas-Particle Suspensions"

Date: Friday, April 25, 2014
Time: 11:00 a.m.
Location: Gilman Hall 50 (Marjorie M. Fisher Hall)

» More information »