Bevan Lab
Home Research Publications People Gallery

group picture
photo on 01/2013
back: Brad Rupp, Julie Bitter, Yuguang Yang, Tara Edwards
middle: Xiaoqing Hua, Michael Bevan, Gregg Duncan
front: Anna Coughlan, Julia Swavola
not shown: Matthew Petroff, Max Pinz, Samantha Brandon

  • Prof. Michael A. Bevan (MD 123) – 410.516.7907
  • New Engr. Bldg. basement office (NEB B28) – 410.516.7691
  • New Engr. Bldg. basement lab (NEB B21) – 410.516.0308
  • New Engr. Bldg. 1st floor office (NEB 137A) – 410.516.8347
  • New Engr. Bldg. 1st floor lab (NEB 141) – 410.516.8354

Prof. Michael A. Bevan

Assoc. Prof., Chemical & Biomolecular Engr., Johns Hopkins Univ., 2008-
Assoc. Prof., Chemical Engr. & Mechanical Engr., Texas A&M Univ., 2007
Asst. Prof., Chemical Engr., Texas A&M Univ., 2002-2007

PECASE, National Science Foundation, 2005
CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2004
Beckman Fellowship, Beckman Foundation, 2001
Henkel Fellowship, ACS Colloids & Surfaces Division, 1998

Professional Preparation
Postdoc, Mat. Sci. & Physics, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2001-2002
Postdoc, Chemistry & Math, Univ. of Melbourne, 1999-2001
Ph.D. Chemical Engr., Carnegie Mellon Univ., 1999
B.S. Chemical Engr., Lehigh Univ., 1994
B.S. Chemistry, Lehigh Univ., 1994

Current PhD Students

Anna Coughlan - Field Mediated Assembly of 3D Colloidal Structures
Xiaoqing Hua - Colloidal Interactions and Assembly at Fluid Interfaces
Matthew Petroff - Diffusing Colloidal Probes of Biomacromolecules and Cells
Bradley Rupp - Reconfigurable Colloidal Antennas
Yuguang Yang - Order Parameter Based Dynamic Models of Colloidal Assembly

Current Postdocs

Tara Edwards - Feedback Controlled Colloidal Assembly

Current MS Students

Samantha Brandon - Diffusing Colloidal Probes of Cancer Cells
Max Pinz - Tunable Multi-Component & Multi-Shape Colloidal Assembly

Former PhD Students

Samartha Anekal - Stokesian Dynamics of Interfacial and Confined Colloids (2006)
Pradip Bahukudumbi - Impedance Properties of Colloidal Microfluidic Circuits (2007)
Richard Beckham - Multidimensional Interfacial Colloidal Crystallization (2008)
Daniel Beltran - Colloidal Assembly on Energy and Diffusivity Landscapes (2012)
Julie Bitter - Anisotropic Colloidal Interactions and Transport in Porous Media (2014)
Gregg Duncan - Diffusing Colloidal Probes of Biological Interfaces (2014)
Tara Edwards - Integrated Depletion and Electric Field Mediated Colloidal Assembly (2013)
Shannon Eichmann - Diffusing Probe Measurements of Nanoparticle and Protein-Carbohydrate Interactions (2010)
Neil Everett - Diffusing Colloidal Probes of Biomolecular Interactions (2007)
Gregory Fernandes - Colloidal Assembly via Tunable Depletion Potentials (2008)
Jaime Juarez - Electric Field Mediated Feedback Controlled Colloidal Assembly (2011)
Mingqing Lu - Density Functional Theory of Interfacial Colloidal Microstructures (2007)
Julia Swavola - Colloid-Mucus Interactions and Transport (2014)
Hung-Jen Wu - Mapping Energy Landscapes with Diffusing Colloidal Probes (2006)